Find Your Park logo
Read about the Newest National Natural Landmark
NNL 50th Anniversary

For the more information about the air resources of the National Park Service, please visit

Mount Shasta

Mount Shasta
Mount Shasta

One of the world's largest and most impressive stratovolcanoes, Mount Shasta contains five glaciers and consists of four distinct but overlapping cones. Located within the Shasta-Trinity National Forest, it is the second highest of the 15 main volcanoes in the Cascade range, only Mount Rainier is higher.

Location: Siskiyou County, CA

Year designated: 1976

Acres: 7,918

Ownership: Federal

For additional information see:

← Back to NNL listing for CA.

← Back to listing of all states and territories.

Please remember, National Natural Landmarks (NNLs) are not national parks. NNL status does not indicate public ownership, and many sites are not open for visitation.

Last Updated: June 28, 2012